Load order/incompatible mod troubleshooting

General help and technical troubleshooting. Ask for help here if you can't find an answer in the FAQ.
Post Reply
kanchuga
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 7:38 pm

Load order/incompatible mod troubleshooting

Post by kanchuga » Sat Jun 30, 2018 11:18 pm

System Specs- Windows 10, i7 7700k, 16GB RAM

Mod Manager and Version- Mod Organizer v1.3.11

TTW Install Log- https://pastebin.com/Xgaamv0e

Current Load Order- https://pastebin.com/nK6AUeVS

Symptoms- Exploring exterior areas of the Mojave Wasteland and especially the Capital Wasteland (Steam Fallout 3 GOTY) causes crashing after only a couple minutes. Also, reloading saves is always a gamble. Sometimes, even on saves that aren't autosaves, I will encounter an infinite loading screen and my computer and I can read from task manager that the game is using nearly 0% resources. Starting a new game temporarily fixes this and lets me play my other save game until I have to load up the game again, which happens often because of how frequently my game crashes. Another similar bug occurs if I do manage to enter a game. Often, when I try to fast travel, I'll fall into another infinite loading screen. Finally, but perhaps least of a big deal is that sometimes random textures will be black and not load into the game. This problem popped up out of nowhere and I don't think that the game is running out of memory because I can keep walking around and everything else will load in fine. I followed closely to the NMC guide for TTW. Anyway, I'd really like to just get the game playable before dealing with this issue.

What you have already tried- I started having bad issues with infinite loading screens and random crashes on an older save game. So I figured that the combination of installing new mods and removing others may have led to a corrupt save file. I also had a plugin number in the 150s, so I decided to cut back on a lot of my mods and start a new game. Anyway, I'm still having this issue and I'm unsure of what to do. I've tried to make sure my load order is okay and made merged patches but I'm still encountering the same exact issues.

Please let me know if any of these plugins are incompatible with one another or TTW or have been known to cause problems in the past. Additionally, please let me know if there's any more info you'd need in order to diagnose my problem. Thanks!

Mystical Panda
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 2:02 pm

Have you also installed any

Post by Mystical Panda » Sun Jul 01, 2018 2:55 am

Have you also installed any texture, sound or 'mesh' mods that won't necessarily have an associated plugin?

kanchuga
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 7:38 pm

Yes there are some retexture

Post by kanchuga » Sun Jul 01, 2018 3:38 am

Yes there are some retexture mods that don't have a plugin. They seem to just be mesh and texture folders with no .esp file

Mystical Panda
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 2:02 pm

That might be part of the

Post by Mystical Panda » Sun Jul 01, 2018 4:56 pm

That might be part of the reason; running out of virtual memory. If you don't have NVAC installed, you should install it and see what it's log shows. Most often, if not using the GOG versions of FalloutNV, you'd need to use the 4gb patcher on the game's executable and if that's not enough look into using ENBoost to offload the graphics onto other processes.

kanchuga
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 7:38 pm

I have the 4gb patcher and I

Post by kanchuga » Mon Jul 02, 2018 5:12 pm

I have the 4gb patcher and I also have ENBoost. I've tried the offloading graphics option, however, even with NVSR, my game stutters a lot. I'll give it a try. And I didn't know NVAC was TTW compatible. I'll try NVAC and the ENBoost option again. Thanks for the suggestion. Another problem I've realized is that even though MO is managing archives, almost all of the .bsa files are greyed out.

kanchuga
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2018 7:38 pm

I installed NVAC and you were

Post by kanchuga » Mon Jul 02, 2018 5:37 pm

I installed NVAC and you were right. The error is E_OUTOFMEMORY. I just don't understand why exactly this is happening? I have the 4gb patcher and a graphics card with lots of VRAM and I ran out of memory within a minute of playing. I'll try the ENBoost setting again. Are there other possible memory leaks or suggestions? Thanks

Edit: I tried the ENBoost settings and my game is much much better and playable. I'll probably just have to live with the minor stutter. Thanks a bunch for your help, really appreciate it.

Mystical Panda
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 2:02 pm

It often times doesn't make

Post by Mystical Panda » Mon Jul 02, 2018 10:32 pm

It often times doesn't make any sense. That's what makes modding a bit more difficult than it should be, even though it will get fairly complicated at times. Boris (the author of enb and enboost) has some really good ideas, but he seems to be, in general, not a very good 'people person', so often times working with him in any capacity could get frustrating.

I couldn't get 'enboost' to work properly for me with the suggested settings; there was a test I did a few months ago when I was matching ini settings to expected results, and oddly enough using the suggested values resulted in out of memory problems. I had to make sure 2 ini settings in enblocal.ini was set to true:

https://taleoftwowastelands.com/content/ttw-performance-guide?page=3

... it starts about 3/4's of the way down that page. I have an NVidia card so setting "unsafememoryhacks" to true doesn't cause any problems here, but might for others. It's kinda trial and error unfortunately- I really wish there was another way.

The thing to do is run a memory monitor and watch and see when you start getting out of memory problems, if when using enboost, the games virtual memory starts going above 2gb then you know there's going to be a problem. That helps with locating the problem setting.

The key for me, if I remember correctly was setting "reduce system memory" to true. The "unsafe memory hacks" buys me a few more fps, and the "expand system memory x64" I would leave to false, since it rearranges the memory mapping for the game's process in an attempt to provide more contiguous memory in the processes limited virtual space.


Mystical Panda
Posts: 750
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 2:02 pm

The problem with 32bit

Post by Mystical Panda » Mon Jul 02, 2018 11:53 pm

The problem with 32bit applications, as with FalloutNV, is the limit on the amount of virtual memory the program can use.

Even if you have 128gb of system ram, a 32bit application can other use about 3.5gb (its the maximum address available to a 32bit number- 64bit numbers can go much higher). After that, there will be an out of memory exception thrown.

Processes are allocated 'virtual memory' (it uses physical system ram, but it can float almost anywhere within the system ram boundaries address wise), but that virtual memory space can include just about (except low and reserved areas) address in your systems ram. If that makes any sense.

Another cause of 'out of memory' is trying to display or get info on a disposed of image- which is odd, since it should say... doesn't exists, but for some reason passing a size(width=0 and height=0) can cause it also. Windows can be peculiar that way.

User avatar
Risewild
Posts: 2371
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 9:14 am

Don't use NVSR with Windows

Post by Risewild » Fri Jul 06, 2018 4:19 am

Don't use NVSR with Windows 10.



IIRC only one setting in NVSR works in Windows 10, but I can't remember which one. To make it work you would have to go to the NVSR settings and disable all except that particular one.



Sorry I can't help more.



User avatar
RoyBatty
Posts: 4709
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:26 am
Location: Vault 108

MO2 removed BSA management

Post by RoyBatty » Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:20 am

MO2 removed BSA management because it was broken.


Image

Post Reply