Cannot start New Game in New Vegas

General help and technical troubleshooting. Ask for help here if you can't find an answer in the FAQ.
Post Reply
ElvenScoundrel
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 6:47 am

Cannot start New Game in New Vegas

Post by ElvenScoundrel » Wed Feb 27, 2013 7:52 am

I have the .esp that makes me start in V101 disabled, which makes me think that it's either mod incompatibility, or the .ini is pointing to FO3's New Game quest thing. What's the .ini line to make it start in NV?



JaxFirehart
Posts: 3003
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 12:33 am

What version are you using?

Post by JaxFirehart » Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:01 am

What version are you using?


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

ElvenScoundrel
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 6:47 am

Of what, TTW? Latest from

Post by ElvenScoundrel » Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:16 am

Of what, TTW? Latest from this here site.



User avatar
Risewild
Posts: 2371
Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 9:14 am

It sounds like a really old

Post by Risewild » Wed Feb 27, 2013 9:54 am

It sounds like a really old version to be honest, since this version has no .esp to start in vault 101, it just starts in it automatically without an option. Maybe the esp is remains from an older version, if you installed the latest over an old one well I might be completely off since it's late, having been sleeping well for several days and today was a really long and tiring day, so I don't trust my brain when I am like this.


My advice if you really want to start in NV is to start a NV game with TTW disabled and save maybe after you get out of the doc mitchells house or something like that, then enable all TTW related files and load that save, that will probably make you start in NV, once you reach the capital wasteland go to megaton and hack Moriarty terminal and the FO3 main quest should start.



ElvenScoundrel
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 6:47 am

It must be an old version,

Post by ElvenScoundrel » Thu Feb 28, 2013 3:41 am

It must be an old version, which is odd, considering I DID download the new version and install it and everything. I'm going to reinstall it again, and see what happens, because I was getting the FO3 beginning with only FNV, it's DLC and FO3 and it's DLC active as well as TTW. It's TTW itself that's making me begin in V101.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

JaxFirehart
Posts: 3003
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 12:33 am

That's what we're saying.

Post by JaxFirehart » Thu Feb 28, 2013 3:55 am

That's what we're saying. Currently, using TTW, you MUST start in V101. We did that to ensure everyone plays in the same direction to help restrict bugs. If you want to start in NV you need to disable TTW (and all FO3 plugins) and start a new game, then, after leaving doc's house, save, enable TTW and start up again. You can jump start the FO3 MQ by hacking moriarty's terminal.


Or you could just start in V101, make a save before the door that prompts you to change stats, and never have to do it again.


There is a train ticket hidden in the DC train station so it takes less than 30 mins from leaving the vault to leaving Doc Mitchell's house.


We are going to implement a start in NV option in the near future.



ElvenScoundrel
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Sep 18, 2012 6:47 am

Yeah, just found that out.

Post by ElvenScoundrel » Thu Feb 28, 2013 5:02 am

Yeah, just found that out. How incredibly derpy of me. Thanks for your help. So, the TTW Vault 101 is safe to be deleted,  because it's leftover from previous versions.



Post Reply