More Spawns

Mod releases and conversions for Current versions of TTW
Post Reply
User avatar
FiftyTifty
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:36 pm

Re: More Spawns

Post by FiftyTifty » Fri Mar 01, 2019 6:12 am

catofriddles wrote:
Wed Feb 27, 2019 2:20 pm
Are there any conflicts with the quest, "Those!"? I've been looking for a way to spawn fire ants after the quest; I really enjoy using fire ant nectar.
There should be no conflicts with any quests. If there are, give me the FormID of the problematic NPC and I'll rectify it.

RastaFari
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:35 pm

Re: More Spawns

Post by RastaFari » Fri Mar 01, 2019 10:16 am

Hey there,

thanks for this mod.

I got a question because I didn't find a clear answer in this thread for it:

I want to use x2 Spawns which are randomized.

Does that mean that I need to run the script on the esp or is the x2 esp already randomized and I can use it as is?

greetings

User avatar
FiftyTifty
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:36 pm

Re: More Spawns

Post by FiftyTifty » Sat Mar 02, 2019 6:05 am

If you are using vanilla TTW, the .esps are fine. But if you're using mods, create a blank mod, change the file index in the script to it, and then run it.

RastaFari
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 1:35 pm

Re: More Spawns

Post by RastaFari » Sun Mar 03, 2019 2:46 pm

alright gotcha.

Thank you!

User avatar
FiftyTifty
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:36 pm

Re: More Spawns

Post by FiftyTifty » Tue Mar 12, 2019 8:55 pm

Updated the script. MatorTheEternal made a large list of library functions a couple years back, and one of them is pretty nifty; it abstracts away the nitty gritty involved in making a file selector GUI. So now you can pick the destination (or new) file directly, without having to adjust the file index in the script whenever your load order changes.

Edit: Disregard, the function doesn't like to play nicely with my script, for some reason. Reverted back to the previous version.

1ercru
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:54 am

Re: More Spawns

Post by 1ercru » Mon Mar 18, 2019 10:40 am

Going to start using this. Is the variable spawn rate ( 1-2 or 1-3 ) part of the esp you included ?

Also is it possible to have ghouls spawns at 4x and everything else at 2x or 3x ?

Someone mentioned this earlier and I’ve looked through the script but am unclear what to tinker with.

User avatar
FiftyTifty
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:36 pm

Re: More Spawns

Post by FiftyTifty » Mon Mar 18, 2019 1:06 pm

1ercru wrote:
Mon Mar 18, 2019 10:40 am
Going to start using this. Is the variable spawn rate ( 1-2 or 1-3 ) part of the esp you included ?

Also is it possible to have ghouls spawns at 4x and everything else at 2x or 3x ?

Someone mentioned this earlier and I’ve looked through the script but am unclear what to tinker with.
Yeah the variable spawn rate is included in the .esp files, but unless you're playing bog standard vanilla, I highly recommend using the script.

There are a list of booleans at the beginning of the script, allowing you to choose which spawns will be duplicated. If you want, say, 3x spawns of everything but 4x spawns ghouls, run the script twice with all the booleans set to true, then run it once more with all the booleans disabled except the ghouls variable. Bam.

1ercru
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:54 am

Re: More Spawns

Post by 1ercru » Tue Mar 19, 2019 12:26 am

Thanks for you help. I seem to have it working.

Am I correct to assume that 2x spawns is the default setting for your script ?

Towards the bottom of the script it seems like 3x spawns is commented out with //

Thanks

Thanks again

User avatar
FiftyTifty
Posts: 476
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2013 7:36 pm

Re: More Spawns

Post by FiftyTifty » Tue Mar 19, 2019 4:34 pm

1ercru wrote:
Tue Mar 19, 2019 12:26 am
Thanks for you help. I seem to have it working.

Am I correct to assume that 2x spawns is the default setting for your script ?

Towards the bottom of the script it seems like 3x spawns is commented out with //

Thanks

Thanks again
To make the script triple the spawns in one go, look for this block of code:

Code: Select all

	Randomize;
	iRand := Random(2); // Double spawns
	//iRand := Random(3); //  Triple Spawns
And swap the comment (//) so it becomes:

Code: Select all

	Randomize;
	//iRand := Random(2); // Double spawns
	iRand := Random(3); //  Triple Spawns
If you're at all interested, the Random() function generates a value that is always below the passed number. So if we have Random(2), it will only generate a number that is either 0, or 1, as those are the only numbers below 2. If we do Random(3), the possible values are 0, 1, and 2.

So in the following code block:

Code: Select all

	if iRand = 1 then
		SpawnNPC(e, strNAME);
	
	if iRand = 2 then begin
		SpawnNPC(e, strNAME);
		SpawnNPC(e, strNAME);
	end;
With iRand := Random(2), only iRand = 1 will be processed on average half the time (50% chance iRand will be 0, another 50% chance that it will be 1). The iRand = 2 condition will never return true, since iRand will always be a value below 2.

1ercru
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:54 am

Re: More Spawns

Post by 1ercru » Tue Mar 19, 2019 7:14 pm

Yeah I think I ran the script correctly. Thank you. Also thanks for getting this script over to Skyrim. A spawn mid that’s simple and works has been elusive for a decade !

Post Reply