Fallout TTW Flora mod?

General modding guides and authoring tutorials.
charwo
Posts: 236
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2013 1:14 pm

Re: Fallout TTW Flora mod?

Post by charwo » Sat Feb 13, 2021 6:08 am

Roy, I looked into that cause I used BA_wasteland and FO3's Vurt forested together in TTW for 50-60 hours in both CW and Mojave without a hitch. I found this:
https://www.nexusmods.com/newvegas/mods/58562

With the explanation on the Treelod:
Unlike previous LODs, DTL files are not meshes, but just a binary data that tells the game what tree type, where to display, and with what scale. File with LST extension defines tree types: width and height in game, and position of a particular tree LOD image on atlas texture. "Atlas" means that there are several separate images located inside a single image. Trees in the distance are just flat images of trees displayed from atlas texture. The usage of single texture in Fallout for all trees is performace friendly, but unfortunately very problematic for mods that change tree models or add new ones. To update LOD images, even if it is only a single tree, the mod must include the whole atlas texture along with images for all other trees even if they are unchanged. The other problem of trees LOD is that a single atlas texture is used for all worldspaces. Also trees in the distance disappear briefly when you approach them, making trees LOD system in Fallout redundant.
To me those aren't problems remotely worrying about. It slows down and it does, I exit and reload. But everything slows the game down after about 20-30 minutes.

Oh for anyone interested, this is what Harold's Wasteland looks like in CW
Image

User avatar
RoyBatty
Gary
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:26 am
Location: Vault 108

Re: Fallout TTW Flora mod?

Post by RoyBatty » Tue Feb 16, 2021 12:47 am

Treelod showing up inside ugrids, or totally disappearing is a bug. Most people don't tolerate such massive visual glitches, I sure don't. Conversely I don't want to listen to people constantly saying TTW is broken when it's an engine bug and whinging and whining about it. Therefore it is stated incompatible and will remain so.
Image

User avatar
jlf65
Posts: 1421
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: Fallout TTW Flora mod?

Post by jlf65 » Tue Feb 16, 2021 11:08 am

I understand that position, but the engine is full of that sort of thing by design. Like when you're approaching Super Duper Mart in FO3 from the road, and part of the bridge near it appears while the rest of the bridge doesn't. That's a massive visual glitch, and there's nothing you can do about it apparently. I think most people tolerate massive visual glitches because Bethesda games have trained them that such glitches are standard for their games. :lol:

User avatar
RoyBatty
Gary
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:26 am
Location: Vault 108

Re: Fallout TTW Flora mod?

Post by RoyBatty » Sun Feb 21, 2021 6:29 am

That's not an engine bug, that's just the bridge missing a LOD mesh.
Image

User avatar
jlf65
Posts: 1421
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: Fallout TTW Flora mod?

Post by jlf65 » Sun Feb 21, 2021 10:37 am

RoyBatty wrote:
Sun Feb 21, 2021 6:29 am
That's not an engine bug, that's just the bridge missing a LOD mesh.
So that can be fixed? That would be nice, but I've gotten used to only seeing part of a bridge. :lol:

User avatar
RoyBatty
Gary
Posts: 7110
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:26 am
Location: Vault 108

Re: Fallout TTW Flora mod?

Post by RoyBatty » Sat Feb 27, 2021 11:40 pm

yeah, it can be. :)
Image

Post Reply