MMUE Compatibility Issues

General help and troubleshooting.
Post Reply
0x2A
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 9:08 am

MMUE Compatibility Issues

Post by 0x2A » Tue Nov 06, 2012 12:23 pm

Figured I might start a thread about this. Hopefully this is the most appropriate section.


I started a new game with a slew of mods loaded and found that MMUE (v6) was incompatible with TTW (v1.1a). You'd get to the FO3 start area but you'd just stand there with all the NPCs doing nothing. After trying to figure out what exactly was breaking the CG00 quest I began finding a lot of MMUE records overwriting essential quest scripts. More prodding revealed a handful with really random content replacing the former material. If you care to look into it, some examples are:




  • CG00DadSCRIPT - xx02C9F6


  • CG00MomSCRIPT - xx05EDDD


  • CG00SCRIPT - xx03A17C


  • CG02JonasSCRIPT - xx0306D8


  • BoSBackStoryScript - xx0B4177


I imagine they're not the only ones. Replaced with stuff like "MMUEwpnrepbat," "SnowglobeDisplayScript," etc.


Funny thing is that these particular records are taken in the FalloutNV.esm by the exact same records as in Fallout3.esm, since Obsidian never really bothered to clean up the Fallout 3 reminants very well. I might really just be making an extremely stupid mistake -- I haven't tried my hand at FNVEdit or meddling with anything in terms of modding Fallout: New Vegas in a while. Though it kind of looks like the MMUE people overwrote a lot of "superfluous" records in the FalloutNV.esm that aren't quite so superfluous if you're running TTW. Not sure if it'll break after the chargen quest at some point (I only looked at a few of the script conflicts), but it's something to be aware of if you're trying to run the two together. If you run it after the chargen questline it might not even matter.


Anyway, it'd be possible to create a compatibility patch if you were willing to shuffle the records for MMUE around so they're no longer occupying any of the master record space. I might try my hand if someone more enthusiastic doesn't beat me to it.



ElectricMessiah
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2012 10:21 pm

..nudge of enthusiasm..

Post by ElectricMessiah » Mon Nov 12, 2012 6:08 pm

..nudge of enthusiasm..


I'm wanting to run TTW without making a clean install of FNV, and with all my current mods, of course.


I understand this isn't realistic and have no expectations.  But, Im not willing to give up my modded game yet.


So, I'm waiting to see if you come up with a patch as I to use MMUE and was afraid that it was the mod which was causing my TTW failure.


In the meantime, I'm hoping to learn how to and get a clear understanding of create/install a new clean copy of FNV.  Don't want to overwrite my .ini & savegames by accident.  


 



TJ
Posts: 2181
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 1:06 pm

From what I've seen it would

Post by TJ » Tue Nov 13, 2012 3:21 am

From what I've seen it would almost be easier to start with the version that's object placement only and slowly add to it than to strip out the conflicts.


My project Dash is on Kickstarter!



TJ
Posts: 2181
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 1:06 pm

I just ran down through the

Post by TJ » Tue Nov 20, 2012 3:21 am

I just ran down through the FLST records in MMUE one at a time and found quite a few. Easy to spot, FNV/TTW's records say the editor id is one thing and MMUE's says it's something entirely different. Probably changes in more sections than just Formlist though if I had a guess. Never dug too deep though so I couldn't say for certain how many there are or where. TTW Takes forever to load in FNVedit if you can get it to finish loading. Most people here manage to get it loaded eventually but I always get out of memory error. Definately wouldn't try it if you don't have 4+ gb ram.


My project Dash is on Kickstarter!



dmcgee627
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2012 3:19 pm

It takes an average of 8 to

Post by dmcgee627 » Tue Nov 20, 2012 5:00 pm

It takes an average of 8 to 10 minutes to load for me.



Axelofthekey
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 1:54 am

So, I encountered the same

Post by Axelofthekey » Mon Dec 24, 2012 1:47 am

So, I encountered the same incompatibility issues with MMUE and TTW, so I unclicked MMUE and reinstalled NV through Steam. However, that doesn't seem to have fixed the file issues. I used Steam to "Delete Local Content" and then reinstalled NV through there. Would not that reset the files you're talking about? If so, how would I go about doing that?



Post Reply