I am unable to start a new game

General help and technical troubleshooting. Ask for help here if you can't find an answer in the FAQ.
Post Reply
richard37
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2022 2:10 pm

I am unable to start a new game

Post by richard37 » Thu Jul 07, 2022 2:22 pm

Whever I try to start a new game, I get the error that states that the game cannot find the new game quest. It then says that it detects a ttw quest without ttw being installed. The thing is, I deleted ttw a bit ago, and this has just now started. I scouered through the game files and my mods and I cannot find any remnents of ttw, I have no idea what is happening.

User avatar
Bullfrog
Posts: 146
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2022 3:01 pm

Re: I am unable to start a new game

Post by Bullfrog » Thu Jul 07, 2022 3:34 pm

Your FalloutCustom.ini still points to the TTW character generation quest. You need to remove the following line:

Code: Select all

SCharGenQuest=001FFFF8

paul1222
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 5:00 pm

Re: I am unable to start a new game

Post by paul1222 » Mon Nov 14, 2022 10:29 am

Bullfrog wrote:
Thu Jul 07, 2022 3:34 pm
Your FalloutCustom.ini still points to the TTW character generation quest. You need to remove the following line:

Code: Select all

SCharGenQuest=001FFFF8
I had the opposite problem, I couldn't get TTW to start. So thank you for helping me.
I am the Blade in the Darkness, righting wrongs in the Wasteland. I am the Lone Wanderer and my name is Paul.

SoyaBee
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Nov 20, 2022 1:54 pm

Re: I am unable to start a new game

Post by SoyaBee » Sun Nov 20, 2022 2:02 pm

Hi, I had this problem and it wasn't that I didn't make proper changes to the ini but that the TTW base directory didn't contain the folder that the TTW installer created. When you open MO2 does Tale of Two Wastelands appear in the left panel? If not then your MO2 base directory is not C:\Modding\MO2\mods\Tale of Two Wastelands like the install guide had assumed/recommended, and to fix this, you can just move the TTW mod folder (the one that contains all the Fallout 3 esm and esps ) to whatever your base directory is. Or change your MO2 base directory to the one advised by the installation guide.

Post Reply