Bugs encountered so far

General help and technical troubleshooting. Ask for help here if you can't find an answer in the FAQ.
Panzermann11
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2021 3:40 am
Location: 'Nam, baby!
Contact:

Re: Bugs encountered so far

Post by Panzermann11 » Sat Jul 30, 2022 2:56 am

RoyBatty wrote:
Thu Jul 21, 2022 3:41 am
Bullfrog wrote:
Wed Jul 20, 2022 7:20 pm
I found another bug. This one is actually quite funny. :D
Star Paladin Cross is not allowed to wear Brotherhood armor. I guess it's a copy+paste error.

In script "BrotherhoodFactionOutfitWarningScript" (00134B6F) this code block needs to be removed:

Code: Select all

Begin OnAdd StarPaladinCrossRef
	ShowMessage CompanionFactionArmorMsg
	DropMe
End
Hah!
Is this intentional, by the way?

User avatar
RoyBatty
Gary
Posts: 7585
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:26 am
Location: Vault 108

Re: Bugs encountered so far

Post by RoyBatty » Sat Jul 30, 2022 5:42 am

No just a copy/paste error. We were getting quite tired of working on the companions after recoding them all.
Image

zordard
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 11:26 am

Re: Bugs encountered so far

Post by zordard » Sat Jul 30, 2022 7:33 pm

CodeShow

Code: Select all

scn GenericDoorOpenedElsewhereSCRIPT

; Don't pass a '1' parameter in your terminal's activate script
; This script will not allow NPCs to use the door.
; It's intended for sneaky/hacky players to be able to use the door for gameplay purposes


;**********************

Begin onLoad

	lock 255									;in case someone forgets to lock the door in the editor

End

;**********************

Begin onActivate
	
	if (IsActionRef player == 1)
		ShowMessage GenericDoorActivatedElsewhereMsg
	else
		Activate
	endif
	
End
00045A61 GenericDoorOpenedElsewhereSCRIPT makes it impossible to open the door 08009489 by the switch 0800948B in the Pitt's Supply Plant with the current onLoad lock 255. Vanilla bug?

User avatar
Manan
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 10:35 pm

Re: Bugs encountered so far

Post by Manan » Sun Jul 31, 2022 12:21 am

Ooh, I think I remember running into that in 3.2. Was wondering what the deal was with that. Can't remember if I had the same issue in vanilla Fallout 3, it's been probably at least 10 years lol.

User avatar
Bullfrog
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2022 3:01 pm

Re: Bugs encountered so far

Post by Bullfrog » Mon Aug 01, 2022 7:00 pm

Another minor vanilla bug - this time in The Pit:

In the Steel Mill there is a wounded worker on the ground. As soon as you approach him, a guard comes and starts yelling and kicking him. You can treat or kill the worker. Problem is, next time you enter the trigger, the guard approaches the spot again and the show repeats (even if you treated the worker and he is shoveling coal).

Bug is in script "DLC01FF008TriggerScript" (0800B361). It is missing the condition for "doOnce".

Replace this:

Code: Select all

if IsActionRef player == 1
with this:

Code: Select all

if ( IsActionRef player == 1 && doOnce == 0 )

User avatar
Bullfrog
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2022 3:01 pm

Re: Bugs encountered so far

Post by Bullfrog » Tue Aug 02, 2022 4:18 pm

zordard wrote:
Sat Jul 30, 2022 7:33 pm
CodeShow

Code: Select all

scn GenericDoorOpenedElsewhereSCRIPT

; Don't pass a '1' parameter in your terminal's activate script
; This script will not allow NPCs to use the door.
; It's intended for sneaky/hacky players to be able to use the door for gameplay purposes


;**********************

Begin onLoad

	lock 255									;in case someone forgets to lock the door in the editor

End

;**********************

Begin onActivate
	
	if (IsActionRef player == 1)
		ShowMessage GenericDoorActivatedElsewhereMsg
	else
		Activate
	endif
	
End
00045A61 GenericDoorOpenedElsewhereSCRIPT makes it impossible to open the door 08009489 by the switch 0800948B in the Pitt's Supply Plant with the current onLoad lock 255. Vanilla bug?
I was just standing at that door, hammering at the button to no effect. The thing is that you can't activate something that is locked. So, I think the correct fix is to add an "unlock" in front of the "activate" like this:
SpoilerShow

Code: Select all

Begin onActivate
	
	if (IsActionRef player == 1)
		ShowMessage GenericDoorActivatedElsewhereMsg
	else
		Unlock
		Activate
	endif
	
End

zordard
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 11:26 am

Re: Bugs encountered so far

Post by zordard » Tue Aug 02, 2022 4:55 pm

Bullfrog wrote:
Tue Aug 02, 2022 4:18 pm
So, I think the correct fix is to add an "unlock" in front of the "activate"
No. Why? Devs' intention was to lock this door for all NPCs so that only PC could use it as the exit and only from the side opposite to entrance. It needs either additional scripting or we can just ignore the fact that some potential NPC may try to use that door and simply remove onLoad code block.

User avatar
Bullfrog
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2022 3:01 pm

Re: Bugs encountered so far

Post by Bullfrog » Tue Aug 02, 2022 6:55 pm

zordard wrote:
Tue Aug 02, 2022 4:55 pm
No. Why? Devs' intention was to lock this door for all NPCs so that only PC could use it as the exit and only from the side opposite to entrance. It needs either additional scripting or we can just ignore the fact that some potential NPC may try to use that door and simply remove onLoad code block.
It seems you don't realize that my fix does exactly that. It allows the player to open the door via the switch on the end of the hallway. NPCs cannot open the door.

zordard
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 11:26 am

Re: Bugs encountered so far

Post by zordard » Tue Aug 02, 2022 7:51 pm

Bullfrog wrote:
Tue Aug 02, 2022 6:55 pm
It allows the player to open the door via the switch on the end of the hallway. NPCs cannot open the door.
Nope. It unlocks the door for everyone but PC including the switch. Any NPC may just activate the door and it will open without the need of the switch.

User avatar
Bullfrog
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2022 3:01 pm

Re: Bugs encountered so far

Post by Bullfrog » Tue Aug 02, 2022 9:17 pm

zordard wrote:
Tue Aug 02, 2022 7:51 pm
Bullfrog wrote:
Tue Aug 02, 2022 6:55 pm
It allows the player to open the door via the switch on the end of the hallway. NPCs cannot open the door.
Nope. It unlocks the door for everyone but PC including the switch. Any NPC may just activate the door and it will open without the need of the switch.
If you don't like this solution (which works fine btw.), you can also use this one:
SpoilerShow

Code: Select all

Begin onActivate
	
	if (IsActionRef player == 1)
		ShowMessage GenericDoorActivatedElsewhereMsg
	else
		if GetOpenState == 3	;closed
			SetOpenState 1
		elseif GetOpenState == 1	;open
			SetOpenState 0
		endif
	endif
	
End
NPCs cannot open the door directly (I have tested it) and the player can use the switch to open/close the door.

Post Reply