Is this intentional, by the way?RoyBatty wrote: ↑Thu Jul 21, 2022 3:41 amHah!Bullfrog wrote: ↑Wed Jul 20, 2022 7:20 pmI found another bug. This one is actually quite funny.
Star Paladin Cross is not allowed to wear Brotherhood armor. I guess it's a copy+paste error.
In script "BrotherhoodFactionOutfitWarningScript" (00134B6F) this code block needs to be removed:Code: Select all
Begin OnAdd StarPaladinCrossRef ShowMessage CompanionFactionArmorMsg DropMe End
Bugs encountered so far
-
- Posts: 119
- Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2021 3:40 am
- Location: 'Nam, baby!
- Contact:
Re: Bugs encountered so far
- RoyBatty
- Gary
- Posts: 7721
- Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:26 am
- Location: Vault 108
Re: Bugs encountered so far
No just a copy/paste error. We were getting quite tired of working on the companions after recoding them all.

-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 11:26 am
Re: Bugs encountered so far
CodeShow
Code: Select all
scn GenericDoorOpenedElsewhereSCRIPT
; Don't pass a '1' parameter in your terminal's activate script
; This script will not allow NPCs to use the door.
; It's intended for sneaky/hacky players to be able to use the door for gameplay purposes
;**********************
Begin onLoad
lock 255 ;in case someone forgets to lock the door in the editor
End
;**********************
Begin onActivate
if (IsActionRef player == 1)
ShowMessage GenericDoorActivatedElsewhereMsg
else
Activate
endif
End
- Manan
- Posts: 70
- Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 10:35 pm
Re: Bugs encountered so far
Ooh, I think I remember running into that in 3.2. Was wondering what the deal was with that. Can't remember if I had the same issue in vanilla Fallout 3, it's been probably at least 10 years lol.
- Bullfrog
- Posts: 146
- Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2022 3:01 pm
Re: Bugs encountered so far
Another minor vanilla bug - this time in The Pit:
In the Steel Mill there is a wounded worker on the ground. As soon as you approach him, a guard comes and starts yelling and kicking him. You can treat or kill the worker. Problem is, next time you enter the trigger, the guard approaches the spot again and the show repeats (even if you treated the worker and he is shoveling coal).
Bug is in script "DLC01FF008TriggerScript" (0800B361). It is missing the condition for "doOnce".
Replace this:
with this:
In the Steel Mill there is a wounded worker on the ground. As soon as you approach him, a guard comes and starts yelling and kicking him. You can treat or kill the worker. Problem is, next time you enter the trigger, the guard approaches the spot again and the show repeats (even if you treated the worker and he is shoveling coal).
Bug is in script "DLC01FF008TriggerScript" (0800B361). It is missing the condition for "doOnce".
Replace this:
Code: Select all
if IsActionRef player == 1
Code: Select all
if ( IsActionRef player == 1 && doOnce == 0 )
- Bullfrog
- Posts: 146
- Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2022 3:01 pm
Re: Bugs encountered so far
I was just standing at that door, hammering at the button to no effect. The thing is that you can't activate something that is locked. So, I think the correct fix is to add an "unlock" in front of the "activate" like this:zordard wrote: ↑Sat Jul 30, 2022 7:33 pm00045A61 GenericDoorOpenedElsewhereSCRIPT makes it impossible to open the door 08009489 by the switch 0800948B in the Pitt's Supply Plant with the current onLoad lock 255. Vanilla bug?CodeShowCode: Select all
scn GenericDoorOpenedElsewhereSCRIPT ; Don't pass a '1' parameter in your terminal's activate script ; This script will not allow NPCs to use the door. ; It's intended for sneaky/hacky players to be able to use the door for gameplay purposes ;********************** Begin onLoad lock 255 ;in case someone forgets to lock the door in the editor End ;********************** Begin onActivate if (IsActionRef player == 1) ShowMessage GenericDoorActivatedElsewhereMsg else Activate endif End
SpoilerShow
Code: Select all
Begin onActivate
if (IsActionRef player == 1)
ShowMessage GenericDoorActivatedElsewhereMsg
else
Unlock
Activate
endif
End
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 11:26 am
Re: Bugs encountered so far
No. Why? Devs' intention was to lock this door for all NPCs so that only PC could use it as the exit and only from the side opposite to entrance. It needs either additional scripting or we can just ignore the fact that some potential NPC may try to use that door and simply remove onLoad code block.
- Bullfrog
- Posts: 146
- Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2022 3:01 pm
Re: Bugs encountered so far
It seems you don't realize that my fix does exactly that. It allows the player to open the door via the switch on the end of the hallway. NPCs cannot open the door.zordard wrote: ↑Tue Aug 02, 2022 4:55 pmNo. Why? Devs' intention was to lock this door for all NPCs so that only PC could use it as the exit and only from the side opposite to entrance. It needs either additional scripting or we can just ignore the fact that some potential NPC may try to use that door and simply remove onLoad code block.
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 11:26 am
Re: Bugs encountered so far
Nope. It unlocks the door for everyone but PC including the switch. Any NPC may just activate the door and it will open without the need of the switch.
- Bullfrog
- Posts: 146
- Joined: Mon Jun 13, 2022 3:01 pm
Re: Bugs encountered so far
If you don't like this solution (which works fine btw.), you can also use this one:
SpoilerShow
Code: Select all
Begin onActivate
if (IsActionRef player == 1)
ShowMessage GenericDoorActivatedElsewhereMsg
else
if GetOpenState == 3 ;closed
SetOpenState 1
elseif GetOpenState == 1 ;open
SetOpenState 0
endif
endif
End