TTW 3.2.2 start menu removal

General discussion of Tale of Two Wastelands
Post Reply
HendrixRocker64
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 11:25 pm

TTW 3.2.2 start menu removal

Post by HendrixRocker64 » Wed Dec 02, 2020 7:08 pm

I would like to know if there is a simple way to remove the menu to choose the starting wasteland. I'd rather have the game play the Fallout 3 intro and start in DC right away when starting a new game. Starting in the Mojave is not recommended anyways, so I don't see a reason for that menu. Just personal preference.
I could easily do that in FNVEdit, I need to know exactly what entries to change though!

User avatar
RoyBatty
Gary
Posts: 7096
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:26 am
Location: Vault 108

Re: TTW 3.2.2 start menu removal

Post by RoyBatty » Thu Dec 03, 2020 3:31 pm

No, it's needed. Some people want it, others don't. Can't please everyone, it's a minor inconvenience.
Image

HendrixRocker64
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2018 11:25 pm

Re: TTW 3.2.2 start menu removal

Post by HendrixRocker64 » Fri Dec 04, 2020 7:45 pm

RoyBatty wrote:
Thu Dec 03, 2020 3:31 pm
No, it's needed. Some people want it, others don't. Can't please everyone, it's a minor inconvenience.
Thank you for the reply! I understand why it's needed. But is there a way for me to change it for myself? I have basic FNVEdit knowledge, if there is a way, I would like to do so... What entries are affecting that menu? I mean, if it's too complicated, then I'll just live with it...

Lyndi
Posts: 458
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 8:32 pm

Re: TTW 3.2.2 start menu removal

Post by Lyndi » Sat Dec 05, 2020 5:30 am

You can't change it with basic xEdit knowledge, no.
Produces the programming equivalent of coffee stains.

User avatar
RoyBatty
Gary
Posts: 7096
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:26 am
Location: Vault 108

Re: TTW 3.2.2 start menu removal

Post by RoyBatty » Sun Dec 06, 2020 4:28 pm

No, it's scripted, you can't edit scripts with FNVEdit.
Image

User avatar
jlf65
Posts: 1413
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: TTW 3.2.2 start menu removal

Post by jlf65 » Sun Dec 06, 2020 9:22 pm

RoyBatty wrote:
Sun Dec 06, 2020 4:28 pm
No, it's scripted, you can't edit scripts with FNVEdit.
Well, to be pedantic, you CAN edit scripts in FNVEdit, you just can't recompile them. 8-)

Lyndi
Posts: 458
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 8:32 pm

Re: TTW 3.2.2 start menu removal

Post by Lyndi » Mon Dec 07, 2020 4:25 am

jlf65 wrote:
Sun Dec 06, 2020 9:22 pm
RoyBatty wrote:
Sun Dec 06, 2020 4:28 pm
No, it's scripted, you can't edit scripts with FNVEdit.
Well, to be pedantic, you CAN edit scripts in FNVEdit, you just can't recompile them. 8-)
You can break scripts with xedit is what you're saying.
Produces the programming equivalent of coffee stains.

User avatar
RoyBatty
Gary
Posts: 7096
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:26 am
Location: Vault 108

Re: TTW 3.2.2 start menu removal

Post by RoyBatty » Mon Dec 07, 2020 9:57 pm

Sometimes I edit them in FNVEdit, but you have to use GECK to compile them. You should use extender so you can catch any errors...
Image

User avatar
jlf65
Posts: 1413
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2016 9:10 pm

Re: TTW 3.2.2 start menu removal

Post by jlf65 » Tue Dec 08, 2020 8:45 am

I tend to use Geany to edit scripts. I copy the whole script from either xEdit or GECK, paste it into Geany, edit it, copy the whole script, and paste back into xEdit/GECK. The text editing in both xEdit and GECK is rudimentary at best. Good for changing/adding/removing a line or two, not so good for big changes. If you do edit the scripts in xEdit, don't forget to use the GECK to recompile them. Once you use the GECK, don't forget to use xEdit to clean the plugin of all the extra junk the GECK throws in. While in xEdit, be sure to note the name of the scripts as GECK sorts scripts by name, not by plugin. Well, most scripts... some are embedded into things and require you to hunt down the thing in GECK and edit it to get to the script to recompile it. Scripts in dialogue are like that... you gotta hunt down the dialogue and edit it to get to the script.

Post Reply